How Being Overweight Helped Me Get Healthy

If I were a naturally thin person, would I have ever found my way to living healthy?  I’d like to think so, but I just don’t know.

I have been overweight almost my whole life.  I have been on diet after diet after diet.  Weight Watchers, Atkins, Slim Fast, Sadkhin, home delivery diets, diets where you ate nothing but 7 bananas a day… you name it, I tried it!  I’ve counted points, calories and carbs… NOTHING worked!  I was beyond frustrated!

Right before New Years I decided to look more into my “healthy” diet.  Because I was eating what I believed to be healthy foods.  I got them all at a health food store.  Shouldn’t they be healthy?  I wasn’t going over my points either.  But I wasn’t losing weight.

I found a book called “Never Be Fat Again”.  That led me on a whole food journey.  I eventually adopted a Paleo lifestyle after reading “The Paleo Solution” where I gave up sugar, wheat and grains and I have never felt better!  Not to mention processed foods and GMOs!  For breakfast, I have bulletproof coffee (coffee with grass fed butter and organic virgin coconut oil) organic, uncured bacon and pastured eggs.  I’ve never felt less restricted.  I have more energy, feel less stressed, and I don’t get those pesky sugar cravings.  My skin is completely clear and glowing.  I’m much more regular, and I’m soooo much happier!  My “dark cloud” that I used to feel followed me is now gone.  I feel fantastic.  And the heel spur that had me limping terribly is finally starting to go away.

People think i’m crazy for giving all that up.  They don’t believe they can do it.  But I don’t miss it much, if at all.  And i’ve never felt better!  And even more convincing…. i’m losing weight!!!!  In 6 weeks I’ve lost 14 pounds!  Without counting, weighing, or feeling guilty about what i’ve eaten.

I refused to weigh myself when we started on New Years Day.  It was almost a full month before I would weigh myself.  I just didn’t want to face the scale.  But I noticed pretty quickly that my clothes were fitting so much better.  And I have to admit, the ONLY exercise I’ve gotten in is just housework and grocery shopping.

My goal right now is to educate others about health.  Next month I will be starting my journey to become a Health Coach in the Dr. Sears LEAN program.  I’m hoping to educate others on reading nutrition labels, how to avoid GMOs, and why our bodies need to eat whole foods.  Let me help you get healthy.

8 responses

  1. Bravo! The world needs more positive role models and I know you’ll be a great advocate for those looking to lose weight, feed their families better, heal themselves, etc. You’ve been a great support for me, I couldn’t have gotten to where I am without you. I’m proud of us both for the progress we’ve made. Thanks!

    • You are so sweet! You have no idea how much you have inspired me to keep at it and not give up. It makes me so happy to know I have helped you, and please know that you have helped me just as much, if not more.

  2. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  3. What a great story! I have a similar story. It’s so hard to weed through all the diets out there when you are just getting started! I’m happy to hear that you’ve been rocking the paleo lifestyle and that’s been working for you! How do you like the Dr. Sears program?

    • Thank you so much! I’ll have to check out your blog as well. It’s very difficult to weed through diets and thats all I did for years and years until I realized nothing worked! NOTHING. The ONLY thing that really works is eating real food, not food-like products sold in grocery stores. The weight just comes off naturally as a way of thanking me! We sometimes eat grains, but I stay strictly gluten free and GMO free. I do notice that I don’t lose as much weight when I eat grains though. But sometimes a gluten free pizza is necessary!

      I recently completed a Dr. Sears course and I was disappointed by the mis-information about fats. However, they are in the process of making changes to the whole program, so I will start my certification course on April 28th. I’ll let you know how that goes. Well, i’m sure i’ll be posting about it. I wish more people were interested in health than weight loss. Once you get your health in check, the weight loss just sort of happens. It took me a long time to figure it out, but i’m so glad I did!

Leave a Reply

