Deodorant

Deodorant.  It’s a much talked about topic if you have adapted an all natural lifestyle and don’t want to smell like sweaty gym sox.  You are making a great decision by avoiding aluminum, artificial ingredients and chemicals, but what’s the best option?

I wish I could answer this question.  I have tried MANY of the all natural varieties out there.  The bad ones just don’t work.  Within hours of showering and applying, I stink… Bad!  Like I haven’t showered in months.  Not exactly what I’m going for when promoting myself as a health coach.  For some reason, no one trusts a health coach that smells like homeless.

I have also come across some that do work… and well.  BUT, i’m too sensitive for them.  I’ve made my own using a simple formula of baking soda, coconut oil, arrowroot powder and a few drops of tea tree essential oil.  It works great, but it literally burned my skin off.  NO BUENO!   My most recent favorite brand is Primal Pit Paste.  I used it for 2 full weeks before it started to bother me, so it’s pretty good for sensitive skin, but then it started to burn.  My husband still uses it.  I had ordered the Patchouli scent so we could both use it.  I had a hard enough time convincing him to even try it, I don’t think I would have had much success if I had ordered a “girly” scent.

So, it’s back to the drawing board for me.  I’ve tried everything there is out there.  Right now I have a light dusting of baking soda on, which oddly enough, works very well and doesn’t irritate me as much as using baking soda with other ingredients.

But here’s a tip: if you try an all natural variety and it irritates you, use it as a foot cream.  Especially a mixture of coconut oil / baking soda / tea tree oil.  It’s wonderful!  The coconut oil really moisturizes while the baking soda absorbs any odors.  And tea tree prevents bacteria.  It’s a win/win/win for your feet!

What do you use?  Have you tried an all natural deodorant before?  Did it work?

Leave a Reply

