OBSESSED!!!!

I’ve been told (a lot) that i’m obsessed with food.  I love food!!!!  What’s not to love?  When I went to school for photography I focused mostly on food photography.  I think about food a lot.  And why shouldn’t I?  Why should it be a bad thing?  Without food we’d all die.

And then tonight, while ricing my cauliflower for some cauliflower risotto, I realized that if I didn’t obsess about food the way I do, I never would have learned as much as I have.  I’d still be eating grains and GMOs.  I’d probably believe all the hype about fat that’s been spoon fed to us for years.  I’d be afraid to eat good, healthy fat like eggs, meats and coconut oil.  I’d probably be even fatter, yet starving from the inside.

I feel lucky that even though I grew up on 1% milk, at least I ate REAL butter.  I thanked my mom today for butter.  At a time when people were too scared to eat butter, my mom kept the butter industry going.  I think only Paula Deen loves the creamy white stuff more than my family!  And I wish I could tell Paula that she can keep eating her butter… it’s the sugar and grains that are contributing to her diabetes   Too many uninformed people focus on the good, healthy fat and criticize her cooking when it’s really those “healthy” whole grains they need to reevaluate.  Eat the butter… skip the bread.

Anyway, I do not believe that all obsessions are a bad thing.  I am obsessed with food.  With knowing where it came from, what it does to our bodies, how our bodies heal themselves with food… why in the world is that bad?  I’m obsessed with nutrition labels.  On the rare occasions that I buy food in a box, I really study it.  I want to know what’s in it.  If there is soy, canola, corn, safflower, sunflower,or  cottonseed oil… I put it back.  If it has soy of any kind I generally put it back, especially if it’s not organic.

I get asked a lot about what I eat and how I shop.  It’s easy.  I buy fresh produce.  Organic when it’s available.  I will NOT buy anything non-organic that can be GMO like zucchini, corn, anything soy, mangoes or sprouts.  Then I head to the organic meat department and I try to only buy grass fed, but sometimes I settle for just organic.  Last stop is dairy.  I get my grass fed butter and local grass fed, minimally processed Ronnybrook milk.  Sometimes I pick up some organic whole milk yogurt for my daughter.  And that’s it!!!!  So simple.

I wake up in the morning and generally have some high fat bulletproof coffee with fatty bacon and eggs.  Then I usually don’t get hungry again until late afternoon when I have a salad smothered in healthy fat.  As a snack, I made my own raw organic nut bars that consist of no more than 3 ingredients.  Nuts, dates, and either cinnamon or coconut… depending on what nut I use.  For dinner… well, tonight my husband is cooking up some cauliflower risotto (he can’t figure out how to rice it though), chicken pieces (thighs and breasts), and maybe sweet potatoes, but I may save those for tomorrow.  As a late snack, I sometimes have butter, Chimay butter, with a spoon.  Salty and fatty and better for you than potato chips!  But lately i’ve been munching on some dehydrated orange slices.  And today I picked up some grapefruits to dehydrate.  My favorite!!!!

I only obsess one day at a time.  I don’t even think about meals until I wake up.  I have a long list of foods I’d like to try, like bone marrow and a long list of foods I’d like to try to make myself, like bacon butter and bone broth.  I used to watch a lot of Food Network, but now it just bothers me watching people eat GMOs and other garbage and fake foods.  I could never work at a grocery store because I probably wouldn’t let anyone buy anything.  It kills me when I see other people buying “health” foods.

Those are my thoughts for today.  What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

